Catching Up

So it’s been a hot minute. 13 days to be exact. In the past 13 days I’ve done a lot! Let’s take a trip down memory lane:

For starters, I made it to Prague in one piece! A big group of Chapman students all traveled together, most starting in Los Angeles and the rest joining in London (Thanks Doti for the free airfare). It was easy to pick us out of a crowd, but luckily I didn’t have to bare the 4 hour layover at Heathrow alone. Over a day of traveling and a few too many movies later, I landed in Prague around 6:30pm on Wednesday, February 3rd. I couldn’t make out much of the city when I arrived as it was dark, but I was super excited to have arrived with only one delayed bag and my sanity in tact.

I was one of the last to arrive at my apartment; myself and two others joined our 7 (now 6) roommates in our cute Czech loft. 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a communal closet (weird) and a decent-sized kitchen for Europe. Everything is great about it aside from the lack of dryers and spacious fridges in Europe. I’ll have to post some pictures of it!

The first few days in Prague consisted of exploring the city with my roommates. We could only accomplish so much per day because the time change called for frequent naps. Some of my roommates are still adjusting! (Cough cough Kim – wake up it’s 6pm).

So far, I’ve:

Eaten Goulash and Trdelnik
Walked the Charles Bridge
Seen the Prague Castle
Been on a walking tour of the city center
Visited Old Town Square (astronomical clock)
Seen the John Lennon Wall

As for non-touristy, more local things, I’ve been to the grocery store way too many times. I’ll have to get used to only being able to buy what I can carry bc no car…luckily Tesco (our Potraviny, or grocery store) is only a 5 minute walk. I have to admit, the first time I went to Tesco was extremely overwhelming! Everyone seems to know what they’re doing and where they’re going, and us Americans are clueless as ever in deciphering the Czech food labels. It’s gotten better though, and I’ve managed to buy a decent amount of groceries for only $10 USD!! Did I mention it’s cheap to live here?

The public transportation system is really easy and convenient – it takes me 10 minutes to get to school from my apartment (walking + tram), and you can go anywhere in the city center within 25 minutes! The metro is really fun, too. I had to take it for the first time to get to IKEA to buy a duvet cover, which was a trek in and of itself. Luckily there’s only 3 lines, so if I can handle the NY subway, I’ll be golden here.

I have a lot more to say but I don’t want this post to go on forever…

I thought I would be much better about blogging, but jet lag really messed with my motivation! It can get overwhelming to think about writing out everything you did in a day, so needless to say I haven’t written anything yet. I’m not making any promises that I’ll post frequently, but I will try my best to keep this page updated! Until next time, here’s a few photos –

DCIM100GOPRO
Me and my roommates at the Prague Castle
019
The Lennon Wall
008
View of the Charles Bridge
014
St Vitus Cathedral
One thought on “Catching Up

Leave a Reply

