They Lick Their Stamps Here

Yup, you read that right! They lick their stamps here. That’s one of the things I’ve learned recently, among others like how Czech Post Offices have zero English signs and the clerks will probably laugh at your obvious American-ness as you struggle to find the mailbox. But good news is I mailed some letters and postcards to the U.S. the other day (hopefully successfully)! I also received a jar of peanut butter and a few bags of Goldfish from America that I’ve already made a dent in – thanks mom!!

In other news, it’s the fifth week of school and midterms are approaching soon. I can’t say I’ve learned an exceedingly large amount of information here but assignments are being completed and I am surviving. I miss home a little bit (okay maybe more than a little bit) but so many exciting things are happening! I’m grateful to be where I’m at and I know I’ll never get an opportunity like this. I’m young, have no strings tying me down, and I’m more eager than ever to learn about the world. This past weekend I took a day trip to Bratislava, Slovakia. This upcoming weekend I’m going to London and next week I’m heading to Dublin, Ireland. Not many people get to say that!! Like how am I even saying that right now!? Moreover, I’m doing big things and I’m still in shock that it’s all happening. Trying to take everything in and live in the present.

I’d write more but I have way too many thoughts right now. So here’s some recent highlights instead:

Brat7
Panoramic View of Prague from Petrin Lookout Tower

 

Brat6
Gelato on Ujezd Street
Brat8
The very windy Bratislava, Slovakia
11 thoughts on “They Lick Their Stamps Here

  1. Thanks for keeping us up dated!! Would like to send a care package, what else are you missing from home ? So happy for you, I know you really start to miss home after a bit . But the time will move fast and Mom & Dad will be there to visit soon. Keep posting and enjoy !!😊🌴
    Big Hug to you!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Surprisingly I’m not missing too much! Or at least I can’t think of anything at the moment 🙂 Yes, can’t wait for them to visit in a few weeks! Thanks! Hope you’re doing well!

      Like

  2. I’m so glad you’re having fun! Super jealous, I’m dying to go back. I got super homesick about a month in, but now that I’m back home I REALLY wish I was back in Prague, so enjoy it all while it lasts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Too bad we weren’t in Prague for the same semesters! And yeah I can definitely relate! Starting to feel homesick but I’m sure I’m going to wish I was here when I’m back home too! Thanks!!

      Like

  3. Mandy,

    My mind is agog with the blog from Prague. Californian represent!

    The best part about this whole semester is you hit the ground running with no time to stop. Little time to lament the cozy confines of home. Compared to what you’re doing, you’re not missing much. Besides, wherever you are, we are always with you, living vicariously through you. You are our eyes and ears. We see your joy. What a pure, delightful witness you have become.

    We’ll be there before you know it.

    Love, Dad

    Like

  4. Amanda-
    What a amazing experience your having, your courage to live outside your comfort zone will set your path in life . Enjoy London and Dublin over the next couple of weekends, London is one of my favorite cities. Don’t forget to get some Fish and Chips! Enjoyed your pictures of Prague.
    Sheryl and I will be in Prague in May, I will text you the details. Maybe you can give us a quick tour while were there.

    Mark

    Like

    1. Thanks! I’m excited for London and Dublin. Prague is beautiful! I think you’ll like it.

      Yes, I will definitely try to show you around! Text me the info and I’ll see what I can do 🙂

      Like

  5. What an incredible experience , sounds like you are taking it all in all the while visiting sights I’ve only heard about. LY 😊 Grandpa

    Like

Leave a Reply

