Londontown

First off, sorry that it’s been a while since I’ve posted! I’ve been doing a lot of traveling and time got the best of me and my blogging..so let’s back track:

March 11th through March 13th I visited my friend Jaci in London, England. She’s studying abroad too. That being said, I spent my first day in London on my own since she has a school internship…and boy was my first day in the UK interesting.  After a plane, bus, many complicated attempts to get an Uber without data, a few urgent texts home to freak out and an Uber driver that dropped me off on the wrong street, I made it to Jaci’s apartment around 3am Friday morning. I survived my first hump of traveling alone – or so I thought.

A few hours later I woke up to start my adventure alone through the city. I got out my mobile map, starred some important destinations like “home” (her apartment) and Westminster Abbey, made my way toward the Bakerloo line, and bought my transportation card. I only got lost on the tube once!

The UK doesn’t seem to like my phone, and, the battery decided to be completely drained after 30 minutes of walking around Westminster and Big Ben. I don’t heavily rely on my phone, but being in a foreign country by myself made it pretty important to be able to get in contact with Jaci and find my way back to her apartment. After a very eventful day in the city, I met up with Jaci for dinner at Franco Manca in Soho and drinks at the Sky Garden. Adult stuff.

Don’t worry y’all, the next two days were much more smooth sailing! I squeezed in a lot of sightseeing and a lot of eating. On Saturday morning we went to Cereal Killer Café in Camden Market for cereal and pop tarts. Let me tell ya, I was missing Fruity Pebbles big time. An old friend and American products were just what I needed! After that we walked around the shops at Camden Lock. We both bought a few rings and I added a London sticker to my collection. Camden was one of my favorite parts of the trip – the vibe was fun and the food was even better. There’s rows upon rows of food stands in the market. From Turkish wraps to pulled pork sandwiches to deep fried Oreos and cronuts, there’s something for everyone!

Here’s most of the things I  saw/did for the rest of the weekend:

Piccadilly Circus

Buckingham Palace

Camden Market

Oxford Street

Hyde Park

Westminster

Big Ben

The London Eye

St. Patrick’s Day Parade in Trafalgar Square

Shawarma off of Edgware Road

A party in Kensington

Brunch in Covent Garden

I know there are loads of other things, but honestly who cares to list it all? You get the point 🙂

London treated me well! Good food, good company, good sights. All in all, it was a great weekend with an even better friend. It couldn’t have come at a better time in my semester. We both needed the comfort of a familiar face in a foreign country, and it couldn’t have been more fun to explore Europe with my gal pal!! Can’t wait til she visits Prague soon!

london1
Jaci, Big Ben, and I
london6
Brunch at Balthazar
london2
Fruity Pebbles from Cereal Killer Cafe!
london3
Buckingham Palace
london4
Your stereotypical London telephone booth photo
london5
So cool to be able to visit friends on the other side of the world!

 

UP NEXT: my trip to Ireland!

Leave a Reply

